Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility California Democratic Party Endorses Sydney Kamlager for Senate District 30 - California Democratic Party

California Democratic Party Endorses Sydney Kamlager for Senate District 30

Senate District 30 includes Culver City, Ladera Heights, and Westmont and the Crenshaw, Downtown, and Florence neighborhoods of Los Angeles

SACRAMENTO, CA – The California Democratic Party (CADEM) today announced the endorsement of Sydney Kamlager for Senate District 30 (SD-30). Kamlager received 93 percent of the votes from the Endorsing Caucus which is made up of the 2019 – 2021 Democratic State Central Committee. Kamlager, who currently serves as the Assemblymember for the 54th Assembly District, is running in the special election for the seat vacated by Senator Holly Mitchell who was recently sworn-in to the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors.

“The California Democratic Party is proud to endorse Assemblymember Sydney Kamlager for Senate District 30” said Rusty Hicks, Chair of CADEM. “Kamlager is a social justice champion and has made transformative changes to reform the criminal justice system and has strongly advocated for environmental justice policies and equity in our education system,” continued Hicks.

“This past year was a year like no other,” Assemblymember Kamlager stated. “We saw people rise up to demand justice in policing, justice for Black and Brown folks, and an end to brutality. COVID-19 hit and our people faced job losses, healthcare insecurity, and the loss of loved ones,” Kamlager continued. “We need strong, progressive Democratic social systems more than ever. To meet the moment, we must be both bold and compassionate. We’re ready and up to the task. I’m honored to join the progressive leadership of the California Democratic Party in creating a path to recovery that leaves no one behind.”

The special primary election is on March 2. If no candidate wins more than half the general vote during the primary election, a special runoff election will be held on May 4.